anyone running Mac OSX server for web hosting?

Do you meen to actually host public sites or just for developement?

I wouldn't recommend hosting a public site on any OS that has software installed that is not required. ie: A webserver should be dedicated to being a webserver.

I'm looking at an xserve to manage about 40 domains. It should provide the power of LAMP without the management nightmare I'm having right now.

I'm working in a plesk environment (which is barely a management utility), and having to do quite a bit of command line stuff to get things working right. I am wondering if the osx server software is as easy to configure websites, email, etc, as plesk is?

I'd just hate to drop $3,500 and be disappointed.

Sorry, I have no OSX or Xserve experience at all, so couldn't really advice you. I've never used plesk or anything similar either having always prefering to do things via shell access.

I manage a few servers (3) running a few sites each but would have thought you would have a fair amount of server admin experience before getting to the point of managing 40+ domains.

What sorts of problems are you having exactly?

my email stopped working a while back. dnsstuff said it was timing out. I also couldn't ftp out from the server, or even do a whois, ping, or host lookup by domain name. I found out the nameserver in my /etc/resolv.conf file was not responding, so I had to switch to an opendns.org one. Now everything is slow, and curl_lib is not working. Latest hack is doing `curl` instead.

I also had a catastrophic hardware failure a few months back. It took the ISP about eight days to replace the machine. The latest thing is, I've been waiting for them to do a cold restart of the server since the 20th of February. I've also been waiting for their DNS nameserver to come back online for about the same amount of time.