When does it make sense to use OOP?

dbo

Let me start by saying that I actually come mainly from an OOP background. I'm not a newbie, or someone trying to learn OOP for the first time. I understand its effectiveness. What I'm wrestling with right now is when it makes the most sense to use it, in web development, particularly PHP.

My general standpoint is that OOP provides a very logical representation of different "items" aka objects. You've got a few private members/properties that represent something, you've got some functions that allow you to operate on these things, access them etc. In addition, you're provided with a level of modularity that lets your code be reused iin subsequent projects.

So with that understanding, what are the benefits of using OOP if its code that really can't be reused and doesn't necessarily have any unique attributes... why should I use OOP.

The example I'm thinking of is this CMS I've inherited at work. A big majority of it is written procedurally, with some components having been converted to OO. The "backend" aka site administrator runs off a single index.php, it uses a get variable to determine which view to load up.

For example:

switch( $_GET['action'] )
{
   case 'settings':
      //load settings view
      break;

case 'page':
      //load page view
      break;

//......

default:
       //load dashboard
       break;
}

Now this could be encapsulated and just be called like:

$obj->loadView($_GET['action']);

But what's the point in wrapping that inside of a class? Inside the class that same code is going to exist, and if I started a new project, the same idea could be used, but the class is going to have to be rewritten to accomodate the new views thus the modularity standpoint doesn't really exist.