Preventing circular in DB

mannygo

I am trying to write a php/mysql that will allow a church keep attendance on their members in bible study. I am also going to try to prevent doing a circular reference between tables and just can't figure it out how since I am just starting to learn mysql. Here are the tables:

Table 1: Members:

---------------

1:Name:

2:Address:

3:Bible Study Group it belongs to:

Table 2: Cells

--------------

1:Bible Study Lider:

2:Bible Group Name

Table 3: Attendance

--------------

1:Date

2:Member

3:Bible Group

As you all can see, Table 2:2 makes a lookup at Table 1 for the member(in this case, the leader). BUT Table 1:3 makes a lookup to Table 2:2

and is a circular lookup.

Anyone have an idea on how to properly do this without any circular problems?

Thanks in advance!

Then why does each member only have one group in your table layout?

Either way, once you have an extra table which assigns members to groups, then there's no longer a circular reference, and the problem goes away.

By the way, in your current layout, a person may be the leader of a group but not one of its members. Is that a problem?

Here is the table update, I did not think when I first wrote it :

Table 1: Members:
---------------
1:Name:
2:Address:
3:List Bible Study Group(s) it belongs to:

Table 2: Groups
--------------
1:Bible Study Lider:
2:Bible Group Name
3:Members that belong to this group

Table 3: Attendance
--------------
1:Date
2:Member
3:Bible Group

And as I understand, there is only suppose to have a Parent reference and not both tables as Parents. I am kind of lost here on DB talk, I am still learning...

Can you put some samples?

This is worse than the first attempt, mannygo. :(

There are no “lists” in a relational table. A single field contains a single value. If you want a many-to-many relation between two tables, you need a third table which connects the rows -- just like you did in your attendance table:

group_members