How can I simplify this query

fastsol
Go to solution Solved by fastsol,

I have this query that gathers info from 2 tables but has 3 different where clauses.  I am still learning some of the more advanced aspects of mysql, so I don't really know if/how I could simplify this query string to make it more efficient.  The other thing I don't know is if simplifying it would reduce the actual number of queries ran within itself.  One thing I also don't know is if there are multiple SELECT in a query string, does the query count increase for each of those SELECTS or is it still considered a single query overall.

SELECT `product_reviews`.*,
    (SELECT SUM(`rating`) FROM `product_reviews` WHERE `active`= '1' AND `prod_id`='75') AS `total`,
    (SELECT COUNT(`prod_reviews_helpful`.`help_id`) FROM `prod_reviews_helpful` WHERE `prod_reviews_helpful`.`prod_review_id` = `product_reviews`.`id` AND `prod_reviews_helpful`.`helpful` = '1') AS `total_helpful_yes`,
    (SELECT COUNT(`prod_reviews_helpful`.`help_id`) FROM `prod_reviews_helpful` WHERE `prod_reviews_helpful`.`prod_review_id` = `product_reviews`.`id` AND `prod_reviews_helpful`.`helpful` = '0') AS `total_helpful_no` 
FROM `product_reviews` 
WHERE `active`=TRUE AND `prod_id`='75' 
ORDER BY `id` DESC

Your insight is greatly appreciated!

• Solution

Ok well I figured this out once I looked at a previous post I had made about a similar thing.  The only part I couldn't figure out was how to get the total number of ratings in the query itself, so I just used a single line of code afterwards to sum it up.

Here is the revised query string.

SELECT `".PROD_REVIEWS."`.*,
	SUM(CASE WHEN `".PROD_REVIEWS_HELP."`.`helpful` = 1 THEN 1 ELSE 0 END) AS `helpful_yes`,
	SUM(CASE WHEN `".PROD_REVIEWS_HELP."`.`helpful` = 0 THEN 1 ELSE 0 END) AS `helpful_no`
FROM `".PROD_REVIEWS."`
LEFT JOIN `".PROD_REVIEWS_HELP."` ON `".PROD_REVIEWS_HELP."`.`prod_review_id` = `".PROD_REVIEWS."`.`id`
WHERE $where 
GROUP BY `".PROD_REVIEWS."`.`id`