[SOLVED] A question of printing out from a database

kristen

Should be fairly simple... but I'm a beginner, and google isn't helping!  :)

I have a table called "Press Releases" that I connect to and then print out so that the releases from each year are separated from each other with a header specifying the year. Right now this is what I am using:

<h3>2008</h3>
<?php
$query = "SELECT id, title, date_format(date,'%M %d, %Y') as date, date_format(date, '%Y') as year FROM pr WHERE del='N' and post='Y' ORDER BY id DESC";
$result = prod_query($query);
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)){ 
if ($row['year'] == '2008') { echo "<p><strong><a href=\"/news/press_releases/full.php?id=$row[id]\">$row[date]</a></strong>:  $row[title]</p>"; }
else { echo ''; }
} ?>

And so on, using that chunk of code (with a different value for $row[year]) several times to get the results from previous years. The code works fine, but I can't help but think there is a better way to go about it. The other problem is that in 2009, I'll need to manually add another chunk to get 2009 releases. Is there a way to make a loop or something to just print each year and it's releases?

Thank you!

I am quite tired, to forgive me if i type something that makes no sense..but I'd advise going down the variable route.

i.e. have www.yourdomain.com?year=2008

then use the if(isset($_GET['year'])) {

then do a mysql_real_escape_string on it.

then i'd just put $year in the title, $year into the query ( so you only get ones from 2008 ).

Thats a response from a tired man :) let me know if that helps you at all.  You could always use $_POST if you wanted.

<h3>2008</h3>
<?php
$query = "SELECT id, title, date_format(date,'%M %d, %Y') as date, date_format(date, '%Y') as year FROM pr WHERE del='N' and post='Y' ORDER BY id DESC";
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)){