Traversing multi-dimensional arrays

woe2you

I've been hacking away at php for a couple of years, but I have no coding background and I'm not particularly good at it. I recently came to rewrite some navigation code for a site I'm doing which uses a database thus:

category_id child_of category_name category_description category_bg

to store hierarchical data. I originally had a new query running for every new sublevel of the hierarchy, and I woke up one morning in an inspired mood and figured it would be much easier to work with if I just called the whole thing into one big multidimensional array, thus:

function get_categories() // pulls all categories from the database into a two-dimensional associative array for use by other functions
{
$query = "SELECT DISTINCT * FROM categories ORDER BY child_of, category_name";
$result = mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());
if(mysql_num_rows($result) > 0)
{
while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result))
	{
	$categories[$row['child_of']][] = $row;
	}
}
return $categories;
}

But now I'm stuck - how can I find an array in this great giant nested mess by its key, when I don't know how far down the hierarchy it is? I want to be able to take any category from the querystring (for example, if someone's hit a landing page somewhere deep in the site) and work backward from that key up the array to the root in order to generate a breadcrumb trail, etc. I don't want to be thrashing the DB all the time, like I used to:

function get_breadcrumb() //temporary function to get breadcrumb trail into array
{
if(isset($_GET['category']))
{
$lookup = $_GET['category'];
}
else
{
$lookup = 0;
}
while($lookup > 0)
{
$query = "SELECT * FROM categories where category_id = '$lookup'";
$row = mysql_fetch_assoc(mysql_query($query));
$breadcrumb[$row['category_id']] = $row['category_name'];
$lookup = $row['child_of'];
}
return $breadcrumb;
}