building a page from a database

fat creative

I have a form with drop downs that will return a listing of items depending on what the user selected in the drop downs.  From the list of items returned, I'd like to be able to click on an item and then build a detailed page about that item, including other fields that were not displayed originally.  I am just learning PHP and could use some direction.  I have test pages and data at www.fatcreative.com/test.html.  Right now it's just selecting names from a database, so the idea would be that once the names are returned, you could click on any name and then a new page would come up listing a lot more detailed information about that person.  I will eventually have over 100 items in my database and I was hoping to avoid having to build 100 separate pages.  I'm guessing there's a way to do this and then I'd only have to build one script :-).  If anyone could steer me in the right direction, I'd be ever so grateful. I am loving learning PHP!

This is the code from my first PHP statments:

$query = "SELECT * FROM phoneList";

$result = mysql_query($query)

or die ("Couldnt execute query");

//this will list what customer entered/selelcted on form

echo "You made the following selections <br>";

foreach ($_POST as $field => $value)

{

echo "$field = $value<br>";

}

# GRAB THE VARIABLES FROM THE FORM

$Lastname = $_POST['Lastname'];

$Firstname = $_POST['Firstname'];

//this should select based on form selections

$query = "SELECT * FROM phoneList

WHERE ID > 0 ";

if (strlen($Firstname) > 0) {

$query .= "AND Firstname='$Firstname'";

}

if (strlen($Lastname) > 0) {

$query .= "AND Lastname='$Lastname'";

}

$numrows = mysql_num_rows($result); //count the number of rows returned

if($numrows < 1 ) //if none!!!

{

echo ("There were no rows returned from the database");

}

else //otherwise draw the table

//put info on new lines

echo "<table cellspacing='15'>";

echo "<tr><td colspan='3'></td></tr>";