Super Newbie wants to query show results from 2 (maybe 3 tables)

remeron

Just started learning PHP/MySQL for a week now, and I'm addicted!  I'm not a programmer or even related to computer by profession, so I kinda need some help here.

I have a table (tblinfo) which has (id, name, passport) and a second table (tbldrugs) which has (drugid, drugname).  tblinfo is linked to tbldrugs where each name in tblinfo can be taking a few drugs.  So how/what kind of sql query should i be writing so that whenever i query the tblinfo, it would show me the name and also the corresponding drug that person is taking from tbldrug.

Thanks!

I'm a newbie myself, so beware of my answer, but I guess you need to JOIN the tables.

So something like:

SELECT drugname FROM tbldrugs JOIN tblinfo ON (tbldrug.drugid=tblinfo.id) WHERE tblinfo.name='insert name here'

Something like that. I'm not saying it's correct, but it can be a start. Someone else will surely give you the right query string. :)

thanks for pointing me to the right direction.  However i substituted the JOIN to LEFT JOIN instead and it worked wonderfully. 

However i'm in a bind now.  Currently i have these tables:

tblinfo = patient_id, patient_info

tbldrug1 = drug_id, patient_id, drugname  (LEFT JOIN tblinfo ON patient_id = tbldrug1.patient_id)

i could get mysql to query back results corresponding to the patient and which drug1 they are taking which is:

SELECT * FROM tblinfo LEFT JOIN tbldrug1 ON patient_id = tbldrug1.patient_id

now i want to another drug table which is tbldrug2:

tbldrug2 = drug2_id, patient_id, drug2name

How do i write the right string, whereby I the query would result in showing me, the patient info and the corresponding drug1 and drug2 they are taking?

can i write this:

SELECT * FROM tblinfo LEFT JOIN tbldrug1, tbldrug2 ON tblinfo.patient_id = tbldrug1.patient_id = tbldrug2.patient_id

You are totally out of the way, and Chotor did help you in this (he warned  you at least...)