Odd characters in an email

chunwc

Hi.

I'm a relative novice with php but have been using this script for a mail function. I do edit the file from time to time so it's probably user-induced error, but I can't see for the life of me where the problem is, so if some kind soul may be able to offer some advice for where to look.

Anyway, the problem is that I'm getting really random letters appearing at the end of the email that gets sent out. Today, I had:

¦·¢ø«ºÇèºwbžØb²)Ü¢h§‚g¬±¨ œ‘ç[ÈF†Ûiÿü0Á«àr‰•z»"¢4×?V*î°6­i¶¬{nôçõç®QzWš±àÚµíµÿNÿÛM<×ÍúþšÞ

In the email it appears directly after 'Kind regards, COMPANYNAME'.

(I'm not sure if the characters will come out in this forum.)

Here is the (slightly edited) code:

***start of code in main body

$pforename=trim($_POST['forename']); //ie. a user has filled in this first name

$psurname=trim($_POST['surname']); //ie. a user has filled in a surname

$pemail=trim($_POST['email1']); //ie. a user has filled in their email address

$mail = new mime_mail();

$mail->from = "*a business email address*";

$mail->headers = "Bcc: *the same address as above*";

$mail->to = $pemail;

$mail->subject = "User registration";

$mail->body = "<html><body>Dear ".$pforename." ".$psurname.",<br /><br />Thank you for taking an interest in COMPANYNAME and registering with us. This e-mail is a courtesy to confirm your registration. If you did not register, please reply to this e-mail and let us know.<br /><br />If you have any questions regarding COMPANYNAME, please contact us at your convenience.<br /><br />Kind regards,<br />COMPANYNAME</body></html>";

$mail->send();

***end of code

I use Thunderbird as my e-mail client.

I'm sure when I first wrote this and tested it the random characters weren't there (I have some old test emails to prove it) but cannot see what I've done to introduce the errors. Any help greatly appreciated.

***php code for the mail class (which can send attachments)

class mime_mail

{

var $parts;

var $to;

var $from;