Edit Form Drop down selected value problems.

astratt

Okay here is my first shot in asking for php help.  I have an edit Form in which I need to allow the user to change a drop down value if needed. The problem is the selected value is stored in the Milestones table and the Drop down values are in the Quarters table. I need to make available all of the drop down options from the quarters table but highlight what was selected by the user which is stored in Milestones table, which only holds the selected values.  Its a 1 to many relationship, 1 quarter can be part of many milestones if that helps. Please also be aware that I'm new to php so be gentle in explaining help if possible.

Edit Select Drop Down code:

echo '<select name="Quarter">';
	$getQuarter = "Select q.QuarterID,q.Quarter,m.QuarterID FROM tblQuarters AS q LEFT JOIN tblMileStones AS m ON q.QuarterID = m.QuarerID";
  		$result = $connector->query($getQuarter);  				
	if(mysql_num_rows($result)==0) echo "There is no data in table..";
		else
		for($i=0;$i<mysql_num_rows($result);$i++) {
		$row=mysql_fetch_assoc($result);
		echo"<option value='$row[QuarterId]'>$row[Quarter]</option>";
		}
		echo'</select>';

So if you can help, that would be great.

Though you can get all the information in one query, I think it makes sense to do two queries:

$qry1 = mysql_query("SELECT QuarterID FROM tblMileStones WHERE UserID = ".$userid);
$qrtid = mysql_result($qry1, 0);
$qry2 = mysql_query("SELECT QuarterID, Quarter FROM tblQuarters");

while ($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($qry2))
{
	if ($row['QuarterID'] == $qrtid)
		echo "<option value=\"".$row['QuarterID']."\" SELECTED=\"true\">".$row['Quarter']."</option>";
	else
		echo "<option value=\"".$rown['QuarterID']."\">".$row['Quarter']."</option>";
}

Untested, but you'll want something like this:

<?php
$sql = "SELECT q.QuarterID, q.Quarter, m.QuarterID AS selected FROM tblquarters AS q LEFT JOIN tblMileStones AS m USING QuarterID";
$result = $connector->query($sql);