Can't update MySQL table

Tilex

Hi!

This is my first post because I just started programming with PHP...It probably won't be the last post! ;)

OK here's my little problem:

I have a form that loops through a table (clients) and outputs the info from all the rows (name, address, date joined).  So far so good.

I want the info to be erased in the form and updated by the user.  So the user wants to change the address of client1, and then presses "Submit".

Here my problem arises.

if (isset($_POST['Submit'])){
echo "Submission....<BR>";

foreach ($_POST['name'] as $name) {
$i=1;
echo $nom;
echo "<BR>";
$sql1="UPDATE $tbl_name SET name='$name', adsress='$adsress', date_joined='$date_joined' WHERE id='$i'";
$result1=mysql_query($sql1);
++$i;
}
}

if($result1){
echo "<BR> Success";
}
mysql_close();
?>

I didn't put the code from the form because it works.  Indeed, in the foreach function, I output the $name (which is the name after the button was pressed), and the output is fine.  BUT, the "Success" string is never outputed, and the table is never updated, so the MySQL query fails.

Does anyone have a thought?

I see a few things:

Is "adsress" a typo? Make sure that's not a typo in your code.

Where are you getting "$adsress" and "$date_joined" from? It looks like you're looking through your $_POST['name'] array, but not accessing any other $_POST arrays.

How do you know that you are using the same key for each line item?

You're updating the DB using var $i that you set in the loop, so how do you know you're updating the right row?

Finally, you keep assigning the $result var to your mysql_query(), but you're overwriting the same var over and over, so your "if($result){" will only be looking at the last UPDATE query.

Hi F1FAN,

Thanks for the quick reply!

Sorry for the typos, I translated the variables from French so people would understand, and I actually missed you up!

Here's the updated code:

$i=1;
echo $name;
echo "<BR>";