First time installer - having trouble with mail, did i do something wrong?

Ok, this will be a somewhat long post, but please bear with me.

Hi guys,

Ive been having a lot of trouble with a server that my jobs websites are hosted on. I have never used a server before...and didn't even know php was something you installed

I did manage to install it however...

and after a week of googling and tutorials up to my eyeballs, i now know that the server os is WINDOWS SERVER 2003, i have IIS 6, and i installed php 5 the other day. Its not a mail server, however it does have a virtual SMTP server available, but im not sure i know how to use it.

Heres the problem though, i have tried several contact forms, all online, and even written my own, they all work on my own private hosting, but when i run them on this server, either locally or from a browser on my computer, they've been returning errors.

After another week of googling and tutorials, I've managed to eliminate all of the errors down to authentication.

The test code:

<?php 
mail('email@domain.com', 'Test Subject', 'Test Message');
?>

(removed my email from the above code)

the test URL:

http://atcpresents.com/mail/mailtest.php

But the link says it can not be authenticated. First off, from what i read, you don't need authentication for this, is that correct? and secondly, this is just for a contact form on the "Contact Us" page, and i don't care if it ends up in the spam folder, because all of these emails are being sent to a specific email set up just for this form.

Anyway, my question is, Is there a way to turn off authentication, either thru php, or thru the PHP.ini file on my server, or do i turn it off from my server itself? can anyone help me fix this issue?

I thought it was something in PHP.ini, but this is all i could find that references mail:

[mail function]
; For Win32 only.
SMTP = <removed>
smtp_port = 25

; For Win32 only
sendmail_from = <removed>