A better way for php form validation

cberube09

Hello.  First of all let me state that I am new to PHP and have only begun to learn it.  Today I set off trying to create my own server-side PHP form validation that would alert the user if certain parts of the form were not filled out correctly without deleting the user's data.  The solution that I have come up with works, but it is very inefficient and cumbersome. 

Here is the code of the form:

<div align="center" class="maincontent">
        <h1>Post an Editorial</h1>
        <form method="post" id="addeditorialform" action="index.php">
		<div>
            	<label for="categoryselect">Category<br /></label>
            	<select name="categoryselect"><option value="Business">Business</option><option value="Current Events">Current Events</option><option value="Economy">Economy</option><option value="Government Policy">Government Policy</option><option value="Philosophy">Philosophy</option><option value="Products">Products</option><option value="Science">Science</option><option value="Technology">Technology</option></select>
                </div>
                <br />
            <div>
			<label for="editorialtitle">Title of Editorial<br /></label>
			<input id="editorialtitle" name="editorialtitle" type="text" />
		</div>
            <br />
		<div>
			<label for="editorialcontent">Editorial Content</label>
                <br />
			<textarea id="editorialcontent" name="editorialcontent" cols="40" rows="15"></textarea>
		</div>
            <br />
		<div>
			<input id="send" name="send" type="submit" value="Submit" />
                <input type="hidden" name="content" value="addeditorial" />
		</div>
            <br />
	</form>
</div>

And here is the code of the validation/submition file:

<?php

if (!isset($_POST['send'])) {
echo "<h1>Error: </h1>
<p>Accessing this page directly is not allowed.</p>";
exit;
}

global $error;
$error=0;

function newForm()
{
$categoryselect=$_POST['categoryselect'];