[SOLVED] MySQL Multiple results from a single field to multiple field problem

jedispyder

Hello all, I'm very new to PHP and MySQL.  I'm working on a comic book database and for my question I'll describe 2 of the tables:

Table: Creators

id [int, primary key] (just the typical id)

name [varchar, foreign key] (this contains the names of comic book creators)

Table: Comics

id [int, primary key] (just the typical id)

num (contains issue number for the comic)

writer01 [int, links to Creator.id]

writer02 [int, links to Creator.id, null]

writer03 [int, links to Creator.id, null]

illustrator01 [int, links to Creator.id]

illustrator02 [int, links to Creator.id, null]

illustrator03 [int, links to Creator.id, null]

Occasionally there are multiple writers/illustrator on a comic book, so I'd like to be able to display all of that information if available (some issues may have just a 1 writer/1 illustrator).

When I tried a WHERE to display just Comics.writer01, it worked fine.  When I tried to create a WHERE to display Comics.writer01 and Comics.writer02 I got a "0 results returned".

MySQL Query for only Comics.writer01

SELECT Comics.num, Creators.name

FROM Comics, Creators

WHERE Comics.writer01 = Creators.id

MySQL Query for both Comics.writer01 and Comics.writer02

SELECT Comics.num, Creators.name

FROM Comics, Creators

WHERE Comics.writer01 = Creators.id

AND Comics.writer02 = Creators.id

As I stated earlier, I'm very new to MySQL (and really databases in general).  I have looked through a couple books trying to fully understand JOINS but just don't fully get it yet.  Sorry if its something simple that most people understand, its just evidently taking me longer than I thought...

I'd read into database normalization.

http://dev.mysql.com/tech-resources/articles/intro-to-normalization.html