problem with time/date

damian0612

Hi

I'm pretty new to php & mysql and am looking help with a problem I have with dates. Here is some code I am using:

$result = mysql_query("
     SELECT date_format(`ItemPubDate_t`,'%H:%i %d %b %y'), ItemTitle,ItemLink,ItemSourceURL 
     FROM feedItems WHERE `ItemPubDate_t` >= 
     DATE_SUB(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, INTERVAL 60 MINUTE) 
     ORDER BY `ItemPubDate_t` DESC LIMIT 30", $connection);

if(!$result) {
      die("Database selection failed: " . mysql_error());			
      }			
           If ($row = $result){
   	        echo "New feeds added within last 1 hour<br/ >";
	          while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($result)){
	          echo "<tr><td>$row[0] <A href=$row[2]>$row[1]</A></td></tr>";
	     }
	     }

I have a table in the mysql database that has a list of rss feeds that updates frequently. I am trying to display on my webpage feeds added within the last 1 hour. The problem is, when I use the above code, it displays feeds added within the past 2 hours. From some brief research, it would appear (now please correct me if I am wrong) my server time is in UTC which is 1 hour behind BST which I want which is the problem.

Can anyone help me sort this problem?

Thanks

Damian

To start with, find out what the mysql server's time/time zone is -

SELECT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP;

What is ItemPubDate_t being set to when you insert the record? If it is CURRENT_TIMESTAMP, then your query should do what you expect. If it is a datatime in a time zone different than your mysql server's time zone, it would probably be better if you set the mysql's time zone after you make the connection. See the Per-connection time zone information - http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/time-zone-support.html

Hi, thanks for the replies.

Current timestamp shows:

CURRENT_TIMESTAMP 

2009-04-14 06:32:14

So it is in fact 1 hour behind.