[SOLVED] Trying to replace < and > with < and >

Potatis

Hi, I am trying to come up with a function that will replace < and > with < and >

The data contains html and php code and comes from a form to a processing page as $_POST['content'];

This is what I was trying:

<?php

function replace_bracket($var) {
        $search = array(
                '<',
                '>',

);

$replace = array(
                '<',
                '>',
               );

$var = preg_replace($search, $replace, $var);
        return $var;
}

$content = $_POST['content'];

echo replace_bracket($content);

?>

My error message is: Warning: preg_replace() [function.preg-replace]: No ending matching delimiter '>' found in C:\wamp\www\snippets\snippet_process.php on line 15

and line 15 is: $var = preg_replace($search, $replace, $var);

I'm new to preg_replace, I have no idea what I am doing.  :-[ I hope I can get some help  ???

In case you were wondering about the error, preg_replace (and pretty much every other regex function in existence) expects delimiters to be put around the pattern, so that the engine knows what the start and end of the pattern is. 

$search = array(
                '~<~',
                '~>~',

There are several different chars that can be used. Some of the more popular ones are /../ !..! #..# ~...~

You can even do <...> (notice it's open/close not open/open, in this case). Which is where your specific error comes into play. It saw the < and interpreted it as your opening delimiter instead of what you were wanting to match, saw no pattern after it (which is fine, you don't *need* a pattern but what's the point of regex without one...), and no closing delimiter of > to match the initial <.