replacing keywords but NOT when within an <A> element

markmac

Hi there, I'm new to PHP and Regular Expressions, but I've got some code that is causing me major headaches :)

I have some HTML code, and what I'm trying to do is wrap any words that are thought to be 'keywords' in <strong> tags.

Now this is working fine at the moment, but the problem is because this is HTML code I'm searching through, the regular expression is matching words found within my <A> tags which are obviously breaking the URL's within the href attribute.

EXAMPLE...

THIS...

<a href="http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/java/concepts/index.html" rel="external">java website</a>

IS REPLACED WITH...

<a href="http://<strong class='keyword'>java</strong>.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/<strong class='keyword'>java</strong>/concepts/index.html" rel="external"><strong class='keyword'>java</strong> website</a>

(NOTE: the <strong> tag is being applied to the word java within the <a> tag itself which is fine, but the problem are all other references to the word 'java' within the href attribute is causing the link to break!

How can I avoid this happening? My code is below, any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank you :)

NOTES:

"$this->_articleKeywords" is a private variable that contains a string of keywords (e.g. "these, are, my, keywords").

"$this->_articleContent" is a private variable that contains HTML code (e.g. <p>this is my text</p>).

private function replaceKeywords()
        {
            $keywords = explode(', ', $this->_articleKeywords);

// this array will be used to store the same values as the $keywords array except the values are converted to regular expression patterns
            $patterns = array();

// make sure the keywords array is formatted like a regular expression pattern (e.g. wrapped in //)
            foreach ($keywords as $key => $value) { 
                $patterns[$key] = "/\b$value\b/i"; // the pattern is case insensitive, and should only match whole words