Limit number of \n ?

immanuelx2

Hey all. I am trying to implement a comment system for my website, which makes use of nl2br().

My question is how to limit the number of consecutive \n so that users cannot spam enter and enter a long blank comment.

I would preferably like to replace all consecutive \n with just "" (nothing) after the first two ( \n\n )

Regex Noob here, so please explain it for a dummy ;)

Thanks in advance..

not sure it's working :(

You can simply right-click and view source to see how many blank lines between text (there should not be more than 1, as that lone blank line represents the first \n, while the text on the line after that starts off with the other).

If you're not comfortable with that (or not convinced or what have you), you can simply throw in a simple silly line of code (temporarily for debugging of course) to convert \n to another character and have a look from there:

$str = strtr($str, "\n", '*');

• 2 weeks later...

Any idea why this isn't working? Different but similar problem..

I'm basically trying to ignore the first \n (newline) after the

tag

<?php $bbcode = array
(
	'@\[/quote\]\\n@si' => '[/quote]', // this one doesn't work
	'@\[quote=(.*?)\](.*?)\[/quote\]@si' => '<div class="quote"><h1>\\1 said:</h1>\\2</div>' // this one works fine
);

$comment = preg_replace(array_keys($bbcode), array_values($bbcode), $comment);

Hmm, here is what I came up with:

Example:

$comment = <<<EOF
Some text [quote] more text [/quote]\n

Yet some more text [quote author=immanuelx2 link=topic=253981.msg1200517#msg1200517 date=1244156940]I love regex![/quote]
EOF;

$bbcode = array('#\[/quote\]\n#i'=>'[/quote]', '#\[quote author=\s*(\w+)[^\]]+\](.*?)\[/quote\]#is'=>'<div class="quote"><h1>\1 said:</h1>\2</div>');
echo $comment;

Output:

Some text [quote] more text [/quote]

Yet some more text <div class="quote"><h1>immanuelx2 said:</h1>I love regex!</div>