[SOLVED] MySQL fields into Variables / Login Utilization

sirrkitt

Well, I've been trying to figure out how to do this, all to no solution. I've googled and googled, and stumbled upon this site; so...

My problem(s) so far, I've mostly managed to solve on my own, but a few stuff I've had no luck with. I'm still very new to MySQL, and even newer to PHP (not so much programming itself, though, and I've used MySQL a little bit prior to PHP.) Anyways, I'm running MySQL5 and PHP5, if that will bring any help. Now, my questions are mostly concerning the utilization of this cheap-o login system that I half comprehend (copy and pasted mostly online) and also getting MySQL fields to be placed into a PHP variable for uses. I'm trying to pretty much construct a news site, and I am trying to do permissions for posting, editing, etc., and I have a MySQL field for holding the user's permissions. As of now, I'm at a stand-still, trying to figure out how to send the field (only the specific field) from MySQL to PHP of a specific user (identified by $myusername) into the variable $rights. I've got the idea that I put that into a session variable specific to the user logged in (I think...) but I can't figure out how to get the MySQL field, let alone deal with session variables. So far, I've managed to figure that I need to query MySQL with: SELECT * FROM 'members' WHERE `username` LIKE john, but I'm not sure really what to do to get it to work all the way. I can post files as well, if anyone wants to take the time and help, as any is appreciated greatly. I'll gladly post more detail as well if one would like.

Alright. Glad you replied so quickly. Sorry if my code's messy, I'm new, and I use VIM to edit through SSH. >__>

//Checklogin.php
<?php
ob_start();
include("mysql.php");
// Connect to server and select databse.
mysql_connect("$host", "$username", "$password")or die("cannot connect");
mysql_select_db("$db_name")or die("cannot select DB");

// Define $myusername and $mypassword