HELP ME PLEASE!!!!

mrclark219

Hey guys,

Im relatively new at this php thing so I need some help from you guys.  I am doing cc encryption and decryption using the md5 hash, so far I have gotten the encryption to work, but as far as the decryption it just doesn't work...take a look at what I've got!

function decrypt($tring, $contactNumber){

$key = md5($contactNumber);

$ivSize = mcrypt_get_iv_size(MCRYPT_RIJNDAEL_256, MCRYPT_MODE_ECB);

$iv = mcrypt_create_iv($ivSize, MCRYPT_RAND);

$uncrypted = mcrypt_decrypt(MCRYPT_RIJNDAEL_256, $key, $tring, MCRYPT_MODE_ECB, $iv);

if(!is_numeric($uncrypted));

$uncrypted = 'This is bad data';

return trim($uncrypted);

I need a value for uncrypted to make it return the number instead of this is bad data any ideas?

any help would be appreciated!!

Thomas Clark

A credit card number...I probably should have posted the encryption function as well.  I need the function that decrypts to return the actual card number instead of this is bad data, but I got lost along the way and it wasnt working...here is the encryption function!

function encrypt($tring, $contactNumber) {

$tring = str_replace(' ', '', $tring);

$key = md5($contactNumber);

$ivSize = mcrypt_get_iv_size(MCRYPT_RIJNDAEL_256, MCRYPT_MODE_ECB);

$iv = mcrypt_create_iv($ivSize, MCRYPT_RAND);

$crypted = mcrypt_encrypt(MCRYPT_RIJNDAEL_256, $key, $tring, MCRYPT_MODE_ECB, $iv);

return $crypted;

Thomas Clark

All your encryption function is doing is encrypting an md5() value. An md5 is a checksum/hash of the original value. None of that will ever give you back the original value. Remove the md5() from the encryption and doing an md5() in the decryption to give $key makes even less sense.