How to retrieve information from other websites and store?

jadoo1989

I am working on a search system that will allow me to search user names and profile data from a gaming website. I'm quite new to PHP and I'm learning fairly quickly, however I'm not sure how to realistically go about my task and I hope that one of you might be able to point me in the direction of something I might need read up on. Basically, I'd like my application to authenticate itself to this website and then search for profiles. Once the particular profiles in question are found, it would archive the data or display it to the person searching.

I hope I've made myself clear in this and I hope that you guys can help me.

For someone who's "quite new to PHP", this may not be the easiest thing,

cURL: To connect to another site your need to use cURL (or fsocket) this allows you to post values (ie Username and password).

RegEx: To extract the details your probably want to use Regular Expressions,

MySQL: To store the details a simple database ie MySQL would work well as you could do a simple search to check to see if you have the data already.

Now, if you are writing this to scrape data from one site it shouldn't be too much trouble (note: check T&C's to check your not breaking the rules), but your need to really look at the planning if you want it to work for multiple sites

For someone who's "quite new to PHP", this may not be the easiest thing,

cURL: To connect to another site your need to use cURL (or fsocket) this allows you to post values (ie Username and password).

RegEx: To extract the details your probably want to use Regular Expressions,

MySQL: To store the details a simple database ie MySQL would work well as you could do a simple search to check to see if you have the data already.