Help with joins for PHP application

DeaconDesperado

Hello all!

I'm new to the forum and this is my first post.  I've been working on learning PHP over the past two months, and between working on client projects I've made some progress in my understanding of PHP and MySQL.  I've built a few dynamic galleries and blogs, etc. and I'm just getting into database optimization using relational tables.  Forgive me if the inquiries that follow are newbie stuff... but I could really use some help grasping the theory!

My background is in OOP Actionscript for Flash and Javascript... I'm using PDO to connect to my database.

What I'm trying to build as an exercise is a kind of entomology (lepidoptery, all about moths)  site.  It's a simple app - the homepage will load a long list of thumbnails of different species from a database of profiles.  When clicked, that species profile will be loaded from the database.

My difficulty is with the database design and the concept of foreign keys and joins.  I am going to have one table that is just a directory, with fields for the id, name, description.  Then a foreign key on this database will link to a table that will hold all the paths for images of each species.

When I write my admin and listing scripts, how can I be sure that this foreign key auto increments and always matches the right entry in the directory table?  What I seem to be misunderstanding is if this procedure is handled by the JOIN query, or whether or not there is some configuration I need to make to the tables themselves in order to implement the one to many relationship.  For each species clicked, a different number of pictures will load, so it would make sense to have a table that merely has an id field linking back to the directory and a path field to the image.

I apologize if my wording has been vague.  Any help rendered would be much appreciated!