Passing elements frame to frame

geudrik

To begin with, let me say that I am a PHP coder, not a JS coder.

We are currently in the process of redesigning our current product interface to work with a web interface.  To do this, we are using Web2E or CA 2E.  The 2E product is for an IBM i7 series data server.  Now, the way that this works is similar to a JIT generator.  Each screen of our product has a skeleton (HTML backbone) that the generator uses as a template for that given page.  What we're doing is using an iframe within a basic template to reduce server load.  The data and functionally coherent components that the JIT generates is all within the iFrame. 

On each screen, there are a row of buttons for functionality.  Their code looks similar to:

<table bgcolor="#FFFFFF" border="0" align="left" width="720px">
      <tr>
        <td>
          <div class="float"><input type="submit" value="Enter" id="_KEN" title="Enter" onclick="name=id"></div>
        </td>
        <td>
          <div class="float"><input type="submit" value="Page Up" id="_KUP" title="Page Up" onclick="name=id"></div>
        </td>
        <td>
          <div class="float"><input type="submit" value="Page Down" id="_KDN" title="Page Down" onclick="name=id"></div>
        </td>
        <td>
          <div class="float"><input type="submit" value="Previous" id="_K03" title="Previous Menu" onclick="name=id"></div>
        </td>
        <td>
          <div class="float"><input type="submit" value="Alerts" id="_K09" title="Alert Messages" onclick="name=id"></div>
        </td>
        <td>
          <div class="float"><input type="submit" value="Initial Menu" id="_K13" title="Initial Menu" onclick="name=id"></div>
        </td>
        <td>
          <div class="float"><input type="submit" value="Command Line" id="_K21" title="Command Line" onclick="name=id"></div>
        </td>
        <td>