[SOLVED] Using two tables with a common row

breakthecasing

Hi all, I'm new to SQL and I have a problem I can't seem to figure out.

I have a users table and another table.  The users table keeps track of users/passwords/email/etc. The other table is supposed to remember the values of a checklist for each user and show the user what they checked off when they return to the page at a later time while logged in.

I want both tables to keep the same list of users (both have the field 'username'), but I can't seem to figure it out.

This is the code I used at the top of the page that does the processing (the "form action=" page)

$q = "SELECT users.username, checklist.username FROM users, checklist WHERE users.username = checklist.username";
mysql_query($q);

I then declare the variables and set them equal to the checkbox names I setup on

the checklist page.

I then put this at the bottom of the processing page, after the variables are all declared:

$q = "INSERT INTO checklist VALUES ('','$check_1','$check_2', ... '$check_32')";
mysql_query($q);

I know I must be missing the bigger picture here, so any help getting closer to the goal would be very appreciated.

Hi

That you have so many columns which appear to be markers for different checks suggests a not great table design.

I would suggest having multiple rows on the checklist table for each user, one per check. That way you can join them easily. And have a 3rd table that just lists all the possible checks. Makes it easy to report everything in SQL and also means if you add another check you do not need to alter the structure of your tables.

All the best

Keith

Thank you for your reply, Keith.

Unfortunately, I am new to all of this, so linking 3 tables seems daunting when I can't even link 2 right now, haha.