Random Word PHP and MySQL Application

phpmysqlfreak

I am fairly new to PHP and MySQL and wanted to learn more by making a useful random word application with its definition, part of speech, sample sentence, definition, ect. to get better with SAT vocabulary (I'm 16 years old).

Anyways, I have all that working, plus a basic search function and related words function, but as I only have 10 words in the table at this time, I'm getting repeat words. I only plan on having 1000 words, so there is still a change of getting repeat words.

So my next goal with this basic application is to make a system that doesn't repeat words until all words have been displayed. I know I could make a field in the table with a default value of 0, and change it to 1 if its been displayed, but then it wouldn't be displayed again for any user until all users have visited every single word. Not good.

Another idea I had was to store the id's of each word that has been used already and storing it in an array in a PHP file and cross-checking that array before choosing the word to be displayed. Once again, this would be a non-user specific system...

SO...my question is...How can I create a system that is user-specific (only affects one user using the application at a time) that doesn't repeat any already used words...

THANKS!!!

-Adam

Hey there. I don't know how you would go about getting definitions but I'll answer the question you have asked.

COLUMN 1 - WORD ID

COLUMN 2 - WORD

COLUMN 3 - WORD DEFINITION

COLUMN 4 - ACTIVE

Make it so on load it makes column 4 turn into a 0 instead of a 1.

1 being words that havent yet been seen and 0 being words that have been seen.

Then use a random generator to select from WHERE COLUMN 4 = 1, then to make it from 1 to a 0.

I hope this helped alot!