Dumb Question/Security

scfreak

Hello, just an FYI, I am a noob at php, but this noob needs help. Ok, I have a cookie cutter login script and on the register page I want to add a blank titled "Clan Password". This blank will ask for a password, that can be static to make things easy. This password would be required to hit the submit button, otherwise you get the error. "Incorrect clan password, please contact Sc." I know this can be done with java script, however I would like it to be apart of the php script. I have included the origional script titled "register.php" and my failed version. Please help, thank you. SC.

[attachment deleted by admin]

I wouldn't necessarily suggest using a static password.  However here is a small script that may help you get to what you are trying to accomplish... it probably is not THE solution but it will help you get there.

<?php
function checkform()
{		
	$TorF = 0;
	$staticpassword = "bob";
	if ($_POST['password'] != $staticpassword)
	{
		echo "You have entered an incorrect password! Please try again.";
		$TorF = 1;
	}
	if ($TorF == 1)
	{
		return false;
	}
	else
	{
		return true;
	}
}

if($_POST['Login'] and checkform())
{		
	echo "You have successfully logged in and will be redirected in 3 seconds";	
	?>
	<meta HTTP-EQUIV="REFRESH" content="3; url=index.php">
	<?php
}
else
{
	?>
	<form name="subscribe" action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_self'] ?>" method="post">
	<p align="left">

<label for="password"><?php echo "Password:"; ?></label><br />
                <input name="password" type="password" id="password" tabindex="1" /><br />

<input type="submit" name="Login" value="Login" tabindex="2" />
                </p>

</form>
	<?php
}
?>