Help the newbie? Can't get my MySQL_query right.

Bikkebakke

So, I'm new to PHP/MySQL, I've been reading a lot of tutorials and got my own domain and (PHP enabled) webhost and MySQL server.

I'm kind of learning the language with testing simple stuff, my ultimate goal is to create a browser-game but that's not going to happen anytime soon  8)

The problem is I've created a "battle" page, theres no battle yet but I'm trying to code it so that when you go to the battle page it "finds and slays a monster" and you gain exp and gold. As I said, I'm just testing stuff and figuring out how PHP/MySQL works.

(Create own table and make the PHP increase the value of a field)

I don't seem to get what am I missing or is there a typo here:

$get->exp = rand(5,50);
$get->gold = rand(1,30);

mysql_query("UPDATE users SET exp = exp + $get->exp, gold = gold + $get->gold".$_SESSION["user_id"]."'");

echo "<p><strong>Outcome:<br></strong>";
echo "You killed the monster and gained $get->Exp experience points and $get->Gold gold!";

It doesn't update the db table and it just shows the following in browser:

Outcome:

You killed the monster and gained experience points and Zeny!

I'd appreciate it if someone points out what am I missing :o

You'll need to enclose $get->whatever in curly brackets, and your $_SESSION['user_id'] seems to be used in the wrong place (plus the double-quoted user_id conflicts with the double quotes used to hold the query). Try the following:

mysql_query("UPDATE users SET exp = exp + {$get->exp}, gold = gold + {$get->gold} WHERE id = {$_SESSION['user_id']}");

And as an extra note, your method of returning the properties of a class is not the preferred. The better way is to call something similar to $object->GetGold() (or, maybe, $object->Get('gold')).

Alright, I'll keep that in mind, thanks :3

Now that I got that thing working I'll work on making a simple battle system: