creating thumbnail images and low size images

Orionsbelter

Ok so i am a newbie to PHP and need a bot of help. I have created a script for uploading an image to my website, this works just fine. However i now wish to add to the script a part which will make an thumbnail image of a certain size lets so 200 width by 200 height. I also want it to keep the image as good quality as i can so i wish to lower the size of the files lets so it was 100kb maybe lower it to 10kb.

I have googled this for hours and have found some example but all are too confusing. Also i should state the images will either be a GIF, JPG or PNG.

Thank you for reading an any help what so ever will be very grateful

Your best approach to doing this is phpthumb http://phpthumb.sourceforge.net/ with which, you can either produce your thumbnail on demand, or create a thumbnail and save it as a file.

You can of course write the code yourself, using the extensive image functions of php, but you may find the learning curve a bit steep.

//Get width and height of input gif . Size[0] = width , Size[1]= height
$size = GetImageSize("some.gif") 

//Input gif , the large pic
$im_in = ImageCreateFromGif("some.gif"); 

// Output gif , The thumbnail
$im_out = Imagecreate(200,200); // Imagecreate(width,height); 

//Copy input image into output image and rezise it.
ImageCopyResized ($im_in , $im_out , 0,0,0,0, $size[0], $size[1],200, 200 , ); 

/* ImageCopyResized prototype:
ImageCopyResized(input,output,input-x,input-y,output-x, output-y,input-width,input-height,output-width, output-height)
*/

imagegif($im_out, "small_some.gif"); // save small gif

//Destroy the created instances
imagedestroy($im_in);
imagedestroy($im_out);

You now should have a image named small_some.gif that is re-sized to your specification.