General Joomla Question

Paper Tiger

I read that Joomla uses PHP and is used frequently to produce websites with a content management system.  Which is kind of what I am looking for.  However  I also see (on google) a number of companies offering "Dedicated Joomla Hosting".

So -

Does Joomla generate an entire website in PHP or does it require the host server to be running Joomla or either?

If it requires a joomla hosting server does this mean any potential customer has to learn Joomla in order to use any site I create with it?

I have a potential client that wants a simple catalogue website which will display images and descriptions of items from a searchable database with the ability for him to log in and add(with image upload) or delete items.  eCommerce is not needed for this application.

I'm new to PHP and I figure this is a good solid project I can get my teeth into that's not too complicated - It's a while since I've done anything like this and the last time I did it in ASP for a government website ( TIP - don't do a gov't website if you don't have to :) they give you a 300 page document of "guidelines" they'll assure you they're not "rules" but just you try not following one or two - it's soul destroying they love nothing better than to crush good ideas and creativity)  I know I could do this in ASP though, I still have lots of code snippets I could use, I just want to do it in PHP,

Hi there,

Joomla is a Content Management System (CMS) that runs on php. Basically any web host that supports php and mysql can host a Joomla website. Joomla will essentially be the backbone for your website, manage menus and links, content pages, and extensions. There's a ton of Joomla Templates out there, which you'll find with a simple Google search. "Dedicated Joomla Hosting" is essentially just a sales buzz-phrase.