How would you do this?

chiprivers

Hello All.  I have posted an earlier question with no response but having found this forum, I think I may have posted it in the wrong place!

I am inviting suggestions as to the best way to approach this application I am trying to produce.  I have got an idea on how to approach it but the little of it I have done so far seems to be quite heavily coded and slow on execution.  As a relative novice, I would imagine I have not come up with the best approach to this.

What I need is an application that monitors the availability of resources.  Lets say there are 20 individuals (these are the reources) whos availability at any particular time we will want to monitor.  I want to be able to display a grid on the screen specific to a selected date.  The first column of the grid on the left will list the 20 individuals' names. Forget the second column for a second.  The remaining columns across the page will represent time units and default to 1 hour units, so there will be 24 columns, the first representing 0000hrs to 0100hrs, the next will represent 0100hrs to 0200hrs etc etc. 

Each square of the grid within the time unit columns will display whether the individual in the appropriate row is available.  This will be illustrated by a code entered into the square. 

Back to the second column that we missed, this will contain the total number of hours the relevant individual is available during the current week.  Remembering that the current grid is only showing the availability for a current day, this column will need to total up the number of squares available in the current pages row in addition to the appropriate data for the rest of the week (Mon - Sun).