How do you design for efficient database use?

Infinitive

I've been trying to improve the quality of my code design, an improvement I feel is overdue.  In my defense, I learned programming self-taught and before OOP was around.  While I understand inherited classes and all that well enough to use them, I don't really have any good practices for planning them.

So here's what I'm struggling with.  The database is frequently the choke point of any application, and so I want to use it as frequently as possible.  What I've read is that this means not requesting excess data and avoiding excess calls.  But those are at odds with each other.  Suppose I have a hypothetical database with tables like this:

User_Tbl (UserID*, Login, Password, FullName, Address)

Cars_Tbl (CarID*, UserID, Make, Model, Year, Color, Value)

And one of my primary uses will be showing a page for a selected car, with the owner's info there too.  So I can easily pull all this data out in a single query by Inner Join on UserID.  One query, gets everything I need and nothing extra, very efficient.

But let's say this is a big application with a hundred other pages.  And I don't need all this data on every page.  Sometimes I just want the Value.  Sometimes I want just Address and Model.  (Nevermind why, I just do.)  Somewhere in these hundred pages every conceivable combination is at some point exactly what I want.  And not just reading, writing too.

So it seems to me when designing this class that I have 3 options:

1) Whenever I need any car data I run that same joined query.  It's wasteful because it retrieves information I often won't need.  Sometimes from a whole table I didn't need.

2) Run a query separate for each column I need.  Wasteful because it turns the primary case from 1 query into 10.

3) Create a separate whatever for each case, so the database is always queried efficiently.  Wasteful because none of the code is re-used.