Simple noob question

s3recap

Im new to php trying to edit scripts and what not. Well basically Im trying to pull a certain number thats stored in my database.

id           name     image  game pet_desc                          pet_strength

12144 Werewolf             1           Rawr               0

12143 Zombie                     1           Living dead       0

12142 Human                     1           The average human.     0

12145 Vampire                     1           I like blood               0

12146 Wizard                     1           magic!               0

12147 Doggy Test             1         dgdfgdfgdgf     255

Im trying to get the specific number of 255. So when a user creates this character their strenght would be 255.

<?php

/*

Process adoption (getpet.pro.php)

*/
ob_start();
$rank_check = 1;
include "global.inc.php";

$findGetFirsts = fetch("SELECT * FROM pets2 WHERE game = '$game' AND id = '$species'");
$pet_str = fetch("SELECT $pet_strength FROM pets2 WHERE name = '$species'");

if (!$findGetFirsts[id])
{
die(header(error("getpet.php?game=$game","Select a real pet.")));
}

if ($findGetFirsts[starter] == 0)
{
die(header(error("getpet.php?game=$game","Select a starter pet.")));
}

$num_pets = mysql_num_rows(mysql_query("SELECT * FROM user_pets2 WHERE owner = '$userid' AND game = '$game'"));

if ($num_pets != 0)
{
die(header(error("index.php?game=$game","You already have a pet.")));
}

$check = fetch("SELECT * FROM user_pets2 WHERE name = '$petname' AND game = '$game'");
if ($check[name])
{
die(header(error("getpet.php?game=$game&pet=$species","There is already a pet with that name. Try another name.")));
}
if ($petname == "")
{
die(header(error("getpet.php?game=$game&pet=$species","Don't leave the name blank.")));
}

if (preg_match('/^[a-zA-Z0-9_]*$/UD',$petname))
{