What does =& mean?

bebop

Hello everybody,

I'm fairly new to PHP. I was wondering if you could help me with the meaning of

=&

since trying to search for such things tends to turn up nothing.

I found it in a very small php class I downloaded (hoping to learn something) and at the bottom there is

$sanitizedData =& new sanitize();

("sanitize" being the name of the class or am I stating the obvious here?)

Thanks in advance,

Sam

Yeah, in php4 when you would create an object with new and assign it to a variable, the assignment itself would make a copy of the object. In many cases that didn't tend to matter much, but if the constructor was doing a lot of heavy duty stuff, or was creating resources, you would use the =& to get around the quirk.

In php5 all objects are passed by reference, so you no longer have to worry about this issue.  There are of course still lots of php4 libraries out there, and you are apparently using one of them.  If there's a way you can find a newer one, I'd recommend it.

In php5 all objects are passed by reference, so you no longer have to worry about this issue.  There are of course still lots of php4 libraries out there, and you are apparently using one of them.  If there's a way you can find a newer one, I'd recommend it.

First of all thank you for your prompt replies! I really appreciate your help and will read more upon this matter through the link posted above. Here is the class I downloaded. I'm a total newbie but from the little I can tell, there isn't much to it that can be referred to as "old" or "new" apart from what you mentioned just now right? (I don't mean to contradict, just asking so I learn)

Thank you once more!

<?php

/**
* @class Sanitize
* @author Nirmit Bothra
* @copyright 2007
* @description This class sanitizes all user input which are accessed by PHP using POST, GET or REQUEST variables. Data sanitation helps in making 
*				safe transactions with a database. 
*/

class sanitize {
function sanitize() {