Very basic coding question

NotVeryTechie

Hi there

I am very new at this and have to unravel someone else's code to make changes.

I have the following code:

$resultsa = mysql_query("SELECT course_id, course_url, course_name, new_course FROM courses WHERE sa_elearn = 1 ORDER BY course_name ASC")

I would like to select WHERE sa_elearn = 1 and WHERE sa_prod = 1 (show both).

I have tried using OR and AND and a comma (e.g. WHERE sa_elearn = 1 OR sa_prod = 1), with and without brackets, but it is not working - it just shows the results from sa_elearn = 1 and not the second one.

I am using mySQL 5.0

I know this is very basic but really hope someone will help  :shy:

Thanks so much

Did you try running your query directly through the database (via PHPMyAdmin for example) to see if the query itself is working?

So you said you tried:

$resultsa = mysql_query("SELECT course_id, course_url, course_name, new_course FROM courses WHERE sa_elearn = 1 AND sa_prod = 1 ORDER BY course_name ASC");

Curiously is the sa_prod field a numeric type field or a string field? (ex: int instead of varchar)

Hi there

I hope I don't sound dumb now - I am running the code through our website server, it is part of a php code page that references the database on the server. The values for both these fields can be 0 or 1. I tried AND and OR and a comma and each time it returns the values for sa_elearn, but not for sa_prod.

Thank you for the help

Thank you kickstart. Is it possible to tell me where to look (is it the php code of the page?). As I said, I need to make changes to the website and (with very little php and mysql knowledge) I am trying to unravel what the guy did that built this thing and trying to make changes. I know this is not the ideal way to do things, but I really need to make it work.

When I use the OR, do I need to put the statement in brackets? As in (sa_elearn OR sa_prod), or does that not make a difference?

Thanks again!