Htdocs structure

scottryan

Hey guys,

I am new to php and website programming, but loving it.  I am currently programming a site locally using xampp.  My file structure is currently like this.... xampp=>htdocs=>website=>secure

I have my root site or index.php in website folder.  I am currently programming in the secure folder doing login, member page ..etc.  I am having a problem when logging out redirecting to the previous folder (website) to get to my index.php page. 

I am working with a friend that is a c# programmer which is used to .asp .net ..MS stuff.  He started the "secure folder", is this common practice when making a application?  What should my folder structure look like? 

Any comments are appreciated.

Thanks, Scott

• 2 weeks later...

It all depends on who you talk to! lol

To get to the previous folder just do something like ../index.php

What programming style are you using?

OOP or procedural?

I normally use OOP and have a structure like this example

.htaccess

library/

library/user.class.php

application/

application/account.php

application/index.php

config/

config/config.php

I use the .htaccess to and mod_rewrite to redirect all the urls to application/

eg example.com/index.php would really be example.com/application/index.php

Common practise varies on the environment and on  experience of the developer I find.  I've been following a Zend Framework structure a lot lately.

/home/myusername/application

/config

/controllers

/models

/library

/Zend

/...bunch of other libs too

/views

/layouts

/cache - Not a ZF convention but I like putting it here

/session

/compiledView

/app

/resources - Put stuff like fonts for image creation here, again not a ZF convention

/home/myusername/public_html - Contains only what needs to be public, only php file is my index.php for most sites

/css

/js

/images