Can MySQL & PHP accomplish what I need?

Hokie007

Hello,

I would really appreciate an experienced user's advice.  I am a newb and only have limited exposure to databases, mainly MS Access.  I have a task at work to construct a database. 

The database needs to:

1.  read/import the data from multiple CSV formatted files contained within a directory.  The CSV files share identical row header text.  (The files contain sensor data from systems installed on automobiles.) 

2.  be accessible by an external/off-site employee (over the Internet).

3.  be able to search, count, and filter through the data contained within the CSV files and display the results of those operations to the off-site employee for the purposes of algorithm testing.

Some practical examples would be for the off-site employee to be able to run a query to count the number of CSV files that have an Acceleration value somewhere within the individual file of less than 0.4 

I know that databases can be very powerful, so the simple sorting/filtering/counting based upon specified criteria does not seem to be a lot to ask from a database.  Since MS Access does not appear to have a good ability to be accessed from the Internet, would a Linux>Apache>MySQL>PHP solution work for what I need?  I'd like to see if it is a feasible solution before proceeding further with learning and installation.  If it is indeed feasible, how difficult do you estimate that it would be for me (with no experience with Apache, MySQL, or PHP) to accomplish?

Thanks for your time and I look forward to hearing your opinions and recommendations.

Hi

Certainly possible and not that difficult.

Do the files you read change or are they static once uploaded? Rereading hundreds of files each time the page is accessed to see which have changed would be time consuming.