Trying to automate video resizing.

damnedgentleman

Hi there.

I'll be honest.  I'm totally new to regular expressions and therefore slightly without a clue.  I'm attempting to resize default embedded video dimensions so that the video looks better with the layout of my page.

Can anyone explain what I'm doing wrong, please?

<?php
  //resize embedded video
  $find = preg_match("/<iframe(.*)/iframe>/", $eventDescLong, $video);

if ($find) {

$video = preg_replace('/(width)=("[^"]*")/i', 'width="580"', $video);
  $video = preg_replace('/(height)=("[^"]*")/i', 'height="387"', $video);

}

Thanks,

Andy

Sure. 

$eventDescLong, is basically the detailed description the an act playing at a live music venue.  I'd like to give the venue the opportunity to incorporate embedded video as part of this.  It's an underground venue, so we have a lot of acts no-one has heard of playing!  The video is basically youtube footage of the acts from other venues, or music videos they have made.  This actually works fine atm.  It just look a bit ugly as it's out of sync with my page layout which is why I'd like to change the embedded footage size from its default values.

However, I'll be honest.  I've never really touched regular expressions before.  So I don't have a clue!

Here's the script that posts the form information to the database.  It all seems to work, apart from the video dimension resizing script originally posted.

<?php

//combines variables $eventYear, $eventMonth & eventDay to variable '$eventDate'.

$eventYear = $_POST['eventYear'];

$eventMonth = $_POST['eventMonth'];

$eventDay = $_POST['eventDay'];

$eventDate = "$eventYear-$eventMonth-$eventDay";

//assigns contents of 'listing_artist' to variable '$listing_artist'.

$eventName = $_POST['eventName'];

//assigns contents of 'listing_desc' to variable '$listing desc'.

$eventDescLong = $_POST['eventDescLong'];

//assigns contents of 'eventEntryFee' to variable '$eventEntryFee'.