Extracting MAX values over many records

Hi,

I am really hoping someone can help me. Am a total newbie and my application was left in a semi-finished state and not functioniong correctly so trying to finish it myself...

What I have is a reservations system where people can book rooms etc. The problem I am experiencing is this...

If a client makes a booking request for a specific range of dates, whatever they are, and the period requested straddles multiple rate values .i.e. if there are two rates applicable for the same room, one being a low season rate and the other a high season rate and the booking straddles those two rates I am having a problem with selecting the maximum rate applicable and calculating the costs for each period the client asks for...

My table looks like this (took some columns out as would not fit here)

Datefrom 	dateto 	      ratename 	    singlesharing 	single 	child 	double 	infant 	base 	perperson 
         2011-05-22 	2011-05-28 	Room 	          444 	        222  	333          111   	555   	 0      	0 	  	 
2011-05-23 	2011-05-27 	ROOMTEST         444 	        222  	333   	444 	        555  	 0 	        0 	  	 
2011-05-24 	2011-05-26 	NEW 	          555 	        333  	444   	222  	666   	 0 	        0 

So far I have code that determines if there is more than one rate period and now I ahve to do a calculation to show the client what their costs are going to be and am stumped completetly... the code I ahve o do this looks like so...

<?php 
                $ratesone = dbGetRows("rates", "venueid = '".$venueid."' AND roomtype = '".$roomtype."' AND datefrom <= '".$datefrom."' AND dateto >= '".$dateto."'"); //booking sits in the middle of the rate period
                if( mysql_num_rows($ratesone) == 1 ) { // only one rate over this period
                  $ratesinfo = mysql_fetch_array($ratesone, MYSQL_ASSOC);
                  echo "Your intended dates fall within a single rate period<br>";