mariam Posted June 20, 2011 Share Posted June 20, 2011 i have written a code for checking username and password, and then directing to a specific profile page w.r.t the username entered.. the password checking works fine but it directs the page to only one profile irrespective of the username entered.. below is my code <?php //$mysql_host = "mysql14.000webhost.com"; //$mysql_database = "a3907930_mehreen"; //$mysql_user = "a3907930_root"; //$mysql_password = "aaaAAA111"; $host="mysql14.000webhost.com"; // Host name $username="a3907930_root"; // Mysql username $password="aaaAAA111"; // Mysql password $db_name="a3907930_mehreen"; // Database name $tbl_name="members"; // Table name // Connect to server and select databse. mysql_connect($host, $username, $password)or die("cannot connect"); mysql_select_db($db_name)or die("cannot select DB"); // username and password sent from form $myusername=$_POST['myusername']; $mypassword=$_POST['mypassword']; $sql="SELECT * FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$myusername' and password='$mypassword'"; $result=mysql_query($sql); // Mysql_num_row is counting table row $count=mysql_num_rows($result); // If result matched $myusername and $mypassword, table row must be 1 row if($count==1){ // Register $myusername, $mypassword and redirect to file "login_success.php" session_register("myusername"); session_register("mypassword"); if ($myusername='mehreen') header ("location:mehreen_profile.php"); elseif ($myusername='mariam') header ("location:mariam_profile.php"); else header ("location:login_page.html"); } else { header("location:invalidpassword.html"); } ?> could u plz help! Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/239895-multiple-user-login/ Share on other sites More sharing options...
HDFilmMaker2112 Posted June 20, 2011 Share Posted June 20, 2011 i have written a code for checking username and password, and then directing to a specific profile page w.r.t the username entered.. the password checking works fine but it directs the page to only one profile irrespective of the username entered.. below is my code <?php //$mysql_host = "mysql14.000webhost.com"; //$mysql_database = "a3907930_mehreen"; //$mysql_user = "a3907930_root"; //$mysql_password = "aaaAAA111"; $host="mysql14.000webhost.com"; // Host name $username="a3907930_root"; // Mysql username $password="aaaAAA111"; // Mysql password $db_name="a3907930_mehreen"; // Database name $tbl_name="members"; // Table name // Connect to server and select databse. mysql_connect($host, $username, $password)or die("cannot connect"); mysql_select_db($db_name)or die("cannot select DB"); // username and password sent from form $myusername=$_POST['myusername']; $mypassword=$_POST['mypassword']; $sql="SELECT * FROM $tbl_name WHERE username='$myusername' and password='$mypassword'"; $result=mysql_query($sql); // Mysql_num_row is counting table row $count=mysql_num_rows($result); // If result matched $myusername and $mypassword, table row must be 1 row if($count==1){ // Register $myusername, $mypassword and redirect to file "login_success.php" session_register("myusername"); session_register("mypassword"); if ($myusername='mehreen') header ("location:mehreen_profile.php"); elseif ($myusername='mariam') header ("location:mariam_profile.php"); else header ("location:login_page.html"); } else { header("location:invalidpassword.html"); } ?> could u please help! My first suggestion is to always use {} brackets on all if/elseif/else statements. Also try adding dot slash "./" to all of the location header redirects, and change the lowercase l in location to a capital L. ie; header ("Location: ./login_page.html"); Lastly, your if/elseif statements have one = sign... when comparing (as you are in an if/elseif statement) it must be two equal signs. With one equal sign you're declaring a variable, and thus the first if statement will always be true, because you're declaring it to be true right in the statement. Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/239895-multiple-user-login/#findComment-1232246 Share on other sites More sharing options...
mariam Posted June 20, 2011 Author Share Posted June 20, 2011 its working now with "==' insted of '=" in if statment thanx! Quote Link to comment https://forums.phpfreaks.com/topic/239895-multiple-user-login/#findComment-1232284 Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Join the conversation
You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.