Basic SQL query problem

Dazman2011

Hi Everyone,

I have a basic SQL query issue that I can't seem to get my head around. I'm self-taught (from books and internet) when it comes to MySQL and PHP so I'm not sure if I'm thinking about this correctly or not!

I have two tables (and others that have no importance here), one containing job records and one containing users. In each job record there are IDs for several users (so several people are referenced for each job) as well as other miscellaneous fields that contain information about the job. I'd like to pull out a list of jobs and simply populate the user IDs in each record with the actual names of the users. Normally I'd use a standard join to do this with a condition to link the user id to the users table id, but because there are three user IDs all referencing the same user table it's got me kind of stumped. Is there a way to do this without having a seperate query to pull out the name of each user? Do I need another 'link' table to link the users in order to achieve that relationship - it would seem a bit cumbersome and I'm still struggling to see how that would work (I've got a real mental block on this one!).

Can anyone suggest the correct and most efficient method to do this? Maybe I need to restructure my database?

------------------------------------------

jobs

user1

user2

user3

(other fields)

users

id

first_name

surname

I'm on MySQL server 5.5 if that helps

Many thanks,

Darren

Thanks for replying mikosiko,

I initially was thinking along the same lines, however my issue with going down that route is that is complicates something that is essentially a very simple relationship, plus it doesn't help me pull out the data very easily when it comes to the conditions needed to link the IDs to the link tables and ultimately the users table.