Basic queries before starting up to do freelancing

expertsystems

Hi!
I am a PHP developer from India having experience of 3.5 years in PHP/MySql/Ajax. I am willing to start doing freelancing PHP projects from home.
To get started properly, I am doing some initial preperatory work before I actually start looking for projects.
In the same regards, I have some very basic queries about starting a freelancing business (especially in India). I have asked quite a few queries, but I would be really thankful to you guys if you can provide answers to those. Also, if somebody from India can share his/her experience, it would be really helpful to me.

1>What precautions should I must take before committing to do any
    work?
2>On an average what are the hourly rates for a developer with
  experience of 3.5 years? Though I understand that it can be very
  relative, still what should be the lower limit that I must get? I am
  asking this to prevent myself being undercharged because of lack
  of information.
3>How can I receive payments for my projects in India from abroad?
4>Which is the best strategy to accept payments from clients since
  clients may cheat you and you cannot do anything for it because
  they are abroad. (By strategy I mean for eg. delivering half work
  and expect half payment or delivering full work and then expect
  full payment etc.)
5>With popular payment gateways, such as Paypal etc. on average
    how many days it takes to actually receive the money in your
    bank?
6>Which is the best payment gateway for receiving money in india?
7>If I wish not to use credit card for transactions, is it possible?
8>How much % of money is normally lost in transaction charges
  and currency conversions?
9>If clients delegate the responsibility of hosting the site,
  which is a good web hosting provider?

Thanks!

Well I am not from India but I may still be able to help.

[quote]1>What precautions should I must take before committing to do any work?[/quote]