Create boolean to indicate if something is complete

AibZilla

Hi, I'm fairly new to PHP and to this website as well.. I'm currently working on a project to make a ToDo list for learning purposes, So far I've created a form that grabs entered text from users and displays it dynamically from my server onto the webpage. The first text that the users submit is the title of the list that they create, the list is then displayed below the text box. Once the new list is displayed the user has the option to update, delete, or add a new item to the list. Once the item is added they can also update and delete that item... The next step which I am having trouble with is adding a checkbox next to the items created from the database and using the checkbox as a way to mark the items as complete. I've created a new column in my 'items' table called IsComplete which is a boolean. I'm just having trouble on how to go about creating the if else statement and how to make my form put a checkbox next to items that I create. I know this is a lot to take in and I might not be explaining myself correctly but help would be appreciated greatly. Here is the code

<?php 
// ERROR HANDLING
if (isset($_GET['message'])) {
$message = $_GET['message'];
}
else {
$message = false;
}	
// LIST MANANGEMENT
require('includes/item-brains.php');
$itemMonster = new Items();
if (!empty($_POST)) {
$itemMonster->CreateItem($_POST["new-item-label"],$_POST["new-item-list-id"]);	
}
$existingItems = $itemMonster->GetAllItems($_GET["listid"]);
?>
<html lang="en">
<head>
<meta charset="utf-8"/>
<title>ToitDoit</title>
</head>
<body>
<?php 
if ($message) { echo '<p style="color: red;">'.$message.'</p>';}
?>
<form action="/view-list.php?listid=<?php echo $_GET["listid"]; ?>" method="POST" name="item-creator">
<input type="text" name="new-item-label" value="" maxlength="100" /><label>Enter Item Name</label>
<input type="hidden" name="new-item-list-id" value="<?php echo $_GET["listid"]; ?>"/> 
<br />