Retrieving posts and threads then sorting by date

MySQL_Narb

Hi guys!

I have a question on how I would go about doing something. I have a table called posts and a table called threads. When a profile page is loaded, I want to query both threads and posts. I then want to join the results together. But, this is the part I have trouble with. How do I join the results together, THEN order then by their creation dates? I can easily order everything by their dates within their own tables, but when they're joined together it looks something like this:

Just an example of my problem

CHPl

As you can see, the results are shown separate. I want to join both threads and posts together, THEN sort them by their dates. How would I go about doing this?

Thanks!

UNION - Look it up

It's hard to translate someone's tone over the internet, but I'm going to take it you have an attitude towards me.

I've already tried UNION, but I'm not experienced in SQL. I'm not even sure it can help in this case. I've tried working with UNION, but I didn't receive any luck.

What problems, out of interest?

When using UNION, the SELECT queries must have the same number of columns and they must be of the same types since they are all going to be combined into a single resultset.

I added the "type" column in case you need to know which is which.

UNION ALL is used in case you have thread and post with same date and title.

SELECT 
    thread_title as title, 
    date_started as date,
    'T' as type 
FROM thread

UNION ALL

SELECT 
    post_title as title, 
    date_posted as date,
    'P' as type 
FROM post
ORDER BY 
    date DESC

UNION - Look it up

It's hard to translate someone's tone over the internet, but I'm going to take it you have an attitude towards me.

I've already tried UNION, but I'm not experienced in SQL. I'm not even sure it can help in this case. I've tried working with UNION, but I didn't receive any luck.