help with an if statement

oraya

Could someone tell me what I have done wrong.  I'm new to php so, hence why I'm here lol..

I have three options for the variable $phone

[*]Phone number left and a call back requested.

[*]Phone number left but no call back requested

[*]No phone no or call back request

And depending on the out come of the submitted form will depend on what the variable $phone is.

At the moment the first and second work as I expected, but the last option no number prints out the variable from the elseif statement.  I'm confused lol.. 

Many many thanks in advance,

Oraya

//DID THEY LEAVE A PHONE NUMBER OR REQUEST A CALL BACK?

if (isset($phone) && ($callme == "Yes"))  { // PHONE NO LEFT AND CALL BACK REQUESTED
    $phone = $title . " " . $last_name . " Requested a call back their number is: " . $phone;

} elseif (isset($phone) && ($callme == "")) { // PHONE NO LEFT BUT NO CALL BACK REQUEST
    $phone = $title . " " . $last_name . " Left their phone number but did not request a call back, their number is: " . $phone;

} else {  // NO PHONE NO OR CALL BACK REQUESTED
    $phone = "" ;
}

Hi Barand,

I'd like it to display nothing in the variable if no phone number is entered in the form or call back request checkbox is left unchecked.  The third option  else $phone = ""  I just can't figure out why it's using the elseif variable when nothing is there.  I had to put a variable there otherwise when I sent the email I would get and undefined $phone variable error if they didn't enter a phone number. Hence why it's empty.

Thank you for replying by the way!

Any idea on what I did wrong?  New to this so any feedback for learning would be great.

Oraya

So the code is executed when the form data is posted and you have something like

$phone = $_POST['phone'];
$callme = $_POST['callme'];

If this is the case, $phone may be empty but it will always be set. The only time it won't be set is when no form data has been submitted. So

<?php