Question About Setting A Variable To Null

eldan88

Hey,

I'm a little new to PHP and started developing a basic PHP website through video tutorials, to become proficient at PHP.

Below are just categories and items. The items are being displayed below the corresponding categories.

Below I am echoing out the ID number when a category or item is being clicked on. That code that GETs the item number is all the way on top.

My question is, on the video tutorial, it suggested that when a category is clicked on ($sel_category) set the item ($sel_items) to NULL and when a item is selected set the category to NULL.

What would be the purpose behind this?

<?php require_once("includes/connection.php"); ?>

<?php 
if(isset($_GET['category_id'])) // This grabs the category_id from the URL from $categories_fetch_array below. 
{$sel_category = $_GET['category_id']; // If it is set then $sel_category will be assigned to the category ID 
$sel_items = NULL;}// If somone click on a category then $sel_items will be set to NULL 
elseif (isset($_GET['item_id'])) // This grabs the item_id number from the $items_fetch_array below. 
{$sel_items = $_GET['item_id']; // Then the ID gets assigned to the vairbale $sel_items 
$sel_category = NULL;} // If $sel_items get selected then $sel_category get set to NULL
else {
//Set both pages to NULL if either get selected. 
$sel_items = NULL;
$sel_category = NULL;
}

// Here is where we will the cataegories by ID

//First we write the query statement

?>

<?php 
// Return data from the DB
$category_query = "SELECT * FROM catagories ";
$category_result = mysql_query($category_query,$connection);
if(!$category_result) {
die("mySQL DB read failed" . mysql_error());
}

//use the return data 
while($categories_fetch_array = mysql_fetch_array($category_result)) {