Html Php Help

simpso

Hi everyone

Im pretty new to this so bear with me if i state the obvious or anything :)

Im currently adding a search function to my website using mysql and php.

First of all i actually have the search working using the like function and the % wildcards to bring back multiple results.

For searching i am looking at two coloums in my database title and key words. The keywords are broken up by spaces.

The issue im having is when i search if i search for example new york this will bring back all the entries with new your in them but if i type new york city i get none because none of my keywords say city.

Same happens if the words are types out of sequence from the way they are in the database.

Does anyone have any idea how i can build this so for example with the new york city one the database will still return any entries that has new york?

Hope this makes sense and i hope you can help.

Thanks.

Here is a copy of the code i am using.

the database structure is simply

ID

Title

Keywords

<?php

$search = $_GET['search'];

$maxRows_Recordset1 = 10;

$pageNum_Recordset1 = 0;

if (isset($_GET['pageNum_Recordset1'])) {

$pageNum_Recordset1 = $_GET['pageNum_Recordset1'];

}

$startRow_Recordset1 = $pageNum_Recordset1 * $maxRows_Recordset1;

mysql_select_db($database_Laughing_seagull, $Laughing_seagull);

$query_Recordset1 = "SELECT products.Title FROM products WHERE products.keywords LIKE '%".$search."%' OR products.Title LIKE '%".$search."%'";

$query_limit_Recordset1 = sprintf("%s LIMIT %d, %d", $query_Recordset1, $startRow_Recordset1, $maxRows_Recordset1);

$Recordset1 = mysql_query($query_limit_Recordset1, $Laughing_seagull) or die(mysql_error());

$row_Recordset1 = mysql_fetch_assoc($Recordset1);

if (isset($_GET['totalRows_Recordset1'])) {

$totalRows_Recordset1 = $_GET['totalRows_Recordset1'];

} else {

$all_Recordset1 = mysql_query($query_Recordset1);

$totalRows_Recordset1 = mysql_num_rows($all_Recordset1);

}