Problem with form and case/break loop for email

deputy963

Hello everyone,

I'm a PHP noob. I haven't written a lick of code in over 25 years and then it was basic/pascal, so please be patient with me. :)

I had an idea to eliminate paperwork and streamline some tasks at work. It seemed simple at the time and I wanted to prove it could be done. I've worked my way through most of it, but I've reached a point where I'm lost.

So, I have a form. User fills out the form and it gets written to a MySQL database. That information is then emailed to a specific person using a function. A separate email is also sent to a variety of people based on the Station field. Problem is I've screwed up the PHP code and the page won't load.

I've attached the php template, rather than insert 300 lines of code.

Thank you in advance for any help you can provide this PHP noob who is up to his eyeballs in a language he doesn't fully understand. :)

Discrep_Entry_test.php

Every line like that:

<p>DO NOT reply to this email! For further assistance please contact Dave Sturgeon at <a href="mailto:dave.sturgeon@wishtv.com">dave.sturgeon@wishtv.com</a> or Gerry Inks at <a href="mailto:gerry.inks@linmedia.com">gerry.inks@linmedia.com</a>.</p>

change to:

<p>DO NOT reply to this email! For further assistance please contact Dave Sturgeon at <a href=\"mailto:dave.sturgeon@wishtv.com\">dave.sturgeon@wishtv.com</a> or Gerry Inks at <a href=\"mailto:gerry.inks@linmedia.com\">gerry.inks@linmedia.com</a>.</p>

as you don't escape quotes.

I'm not looking for code as it's baaaad ;), I'm just telling you what you must fix to run that script properly :).

Also if PHP don't display errors, try change ini on the very beginning and maybe it can help you in future to check where are problems:

ini_set('error_reporting', E_ALL^E_NOTICE);
ini_set('display_errors', 1);

Edited by BagoZonde