Automatic Link Creator with Folder and File Structure.

BrianGilmore

I am hoping someone can help me out with this.  I am a total newb so I would need a script example I could copy/paste.  

Goal: Use my unlimited hosting plan for backing up my 4TB NAS via FTP client but avoiding a network violation from my hosting provider.  The provider insists that all files uploaded must be used on a website by at least a web page

Plan: Create a private web page that is nothing but a massive list of file paths where each file path listed is a hyper link to the file it describes.  This page must automatically update every time a new file is uploaded to the directory on the server that contains all the files I wish to backup.  There could be a polling interval for doing this.  It does not necessarily need to remove links to files that have been deleted or moved, but that would be a nice feature.  It does not need to be pretty.  It could either display everything in a nice tree structure or it could just be on long list of:

"

\\pictures\friends\johndoe01.jpg

\\pictures\family\brother01.jpg

... etc.

"\

each line entry linking to the file path listed.

Also, I would need to put this behind something that requires userid and password.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks!

Brian

I am a total newb so I would need a script example I could copy/paste.

I feel your pain and I sympathize, but this isn't a "write my script for me" site. It's a learning site. Which means you must make an effort to write your own script, and we will try and help you if you get stuck. You get what you pay for. If you want the "write my script for me" option, you'll have better luck if you offer to throw money at a freelancer. But to prove I'm not just being a douche, here is a tl;dr about how you should approach this, should you endeavor to attempt this yourself.