I'm new at this. Need help with an email form

Chronos21

I'm trying to make a webpage for a friend of a friend who is trying to sell his domain (for an outrages amount of money, but hey, his money is as green as anyone's). I have the website designed and with some generous help from the internet have written a PHP script that should send the contents of the form on the page to my email(temporarily). Every time I test it out, though, I get the confirmation page that says the script ran, but no email shows up.

Like I said, I'm new at this. I've coded before, but never in PHP. Are there any REALLY common mistakes that people make that could account for this? 

Ah, I'm sorry. Here it is.

<?php

if(isset($_POST['email'])) {

$email_to = "myemail@gmail.com";

$email_subject = "offer";

function died($error) {

echo "We are sorry, but there were error(s) found with the form you submitted. ";

echo "These errors appear below.<br /><br />";

echo $error."<br /><br />";

echo "Please go back and fix these errors.<br /><br />";

die();

}

if(!isset($_POST['first_name']) ||

!isset($_POST['last_name']) ||

!isset($_POST['email']) ||

!isset($_POST['telephone']) ||

!isset($_POST['comments'])) {

died('We are sorry, but there appears to be a problem with the form you submitted.');       

}

$first_name = $_POST['first_name']; // required

$last_name = $_POST['last_name']; // required

$email_from = $_POST['email']; // required

$telephone = $_POST['telephone']; 

$comments = $_POST['comments']; // required

$error_message = "";

$email_exp = '/^[A-Za-z0-9._%-]+@[A-Za-z0-9.-]+\.[A-Za-z]{2,4}$/';

if(!preg_match($email_exp,$email_from)) {

$error_message .= 'The Email Address you entered does not appear to be valid.<br />';

}

$string_exp = "/^[A-Za-z .'-]+$/";

if(!preg_match($string_exp,$first_name)) {

$error_message .= 'The First Name you entered does not appear to be valid.<br />';

}

if(!preg_match($string_exp,$last_name)) {