Need Help: Parsing data from xml in php

SirMattBusby

Hi there everyone...

I've just joined this forum to get a little :help: with something I'm working on, and also to try to learn as much as I can from others on this forum :D

I play an online football management game called Footstar, I'm trying to develop app's for the game...

The game's development network uses .xml feeds to supply its developers with all sorts of database information such as player names, team names, nationalities, and so on....

I'm absolutely brand new to PHP, It's only because of this game I am now learning it, I'm man utd manager and president of the English football association in the game, so im trying to help out as much as I can... 

I have a decent knowledge of HTML and am familiar with a lot of web design aspects... but like I said, Im new to PHP  :oops: 

This is what i need help with if possible... I have extensivley looked through tutorials on w3schools and other similar sites but still cant get my head around this problem...

<?php
$manutd = simplexml_load_file('manutd.asp');
$con=mysqli_connect("****","****","****","****");
// Check connection
if (mysqli_connect_errno()) {
  echo "Failed to connect to MySQL: " . mysqli_connect_error();
}

foreach ($manutd->xpath('//player') as $player) {
$sql="INSERT INTO Players (ID, Name, Age)
VALUES ('$player->player_id', '$player->player_name', '$player->age')";
}

if (!mysqli_query($con,$sql)) {
  die('Error: ' . mysqli_error($con));
}
echo "Records Updated";

mysqli_close($con);
?>

^ this code is supposed to draw certain data from the manutd.asp feed and insert them into a table in my mysql database.... this works, but... the script is only taking the first set of data... 

for example, this is a snippet from my manutd.asp file:

<player>

<player_id>54101</player_id>
<player_name>Jardel Leal</player_name>
<age>24</age>
</player>

<player>
<player_id>62643</player_id>
<player_name>Olexandr Shelestenko</player_name>
<age>28</age>